Nursing & Midwifery

Four Chief Nursing Officers, 20th century

Display No. 132

The Chief Nursing Officers (CNO) are the most senior advisers on nursing matters to the government, with one CNO for each of the four nations in the United Kingdom.

The role started in 1939 and its priority is to ensure a continuous workforce fit for the future, protect and promote the reputation of nurses and midwives and act as a voice for professionals in these fields.

The four women in this photograph have all served as Chief Nursing Officers for England: Dame Kathleen Raven (1958-1972), Dame Phyllis Friend (1972-1982), Dame Anne Poole (1982-1992), and Dame Yvonne Moores (1992-1999).

Image courtesy of Dame Yvonne Moores

Exhibits from ‘Nursing & Midwifery’.

Discover the 200 Exhibits

Nightingale is respected worldwide for her pioneering role in developing the nursing profession, her statistical work, and her evidence-based approach to healthcare. In honour of her bicentenary the World Health Organisation have named 2020 the Year of the Nurse and Midwife.

In our special exhibition, you will find out about objects, people and places which tell interesting stories about Florence’s life and legacy. You’ll discover artefacts from her life, people she both inspired and challenged, and places she helped to shape. There’s many more insights too!

Please click on the different sections of her famous coxcomb diagram to explore various aspects of her life and legacy. We hope you enjoy exploring!